Each year, the Olive Hyde Art Guild provides scholarships to students who are pursuing higher education in art. The recipient must:

  • Be a Fremont high school senior
  • Be a Fremont resident
  • Have firm plans to include visual art classes at the college level

The scholarship is to be used at an accredited school/college for classes of visual arts. 3 winning students will be honored and their work showcased at a reception on Friday, May 19, 2017. The awards will be announced during the reception after final judging. Art work submitted on CDs must be available for the final judging.


  • The student must provide a portfolio of artwork. Minimum 4, maximum 6 pieces. Submit samples of your work in CD form.
  • The student must have a minimum GPA of 2.50 at time of application.
  • The student must provide a written letter of recommendation from their Fremont High School art instructor (creativity/ability) and submit an unofficial transcript (GPA/school attendance/classes taken) directly to the selection committee.
  • The student must have written permission of parent/guardian.
  • The student must be available the evening of the reception, May 19, 2017, from 6:00 to 9:00.
  • The applicant is not required to demonstrate financial need. The award will be made on artistic merit.

Scholarships are awarded as follows

  • The first place winner receives $2000
  • Two honorable mention winners will each receive awards of $1000
  • The teacher of the first place winner will receive $500 for classroom art supplies
  • Awards will be sent to the Financial Aid office of the school/college each recipient is attending, and is not renewable.


3 recipients are selected in April. All awards are presented during the May event reception

Application Process

Applicants should complete the application neatly and return it, with samples of artwork (clearly labeled with name, artwork title and date completed), to the address on the form by the stated deadline. Letter of recommendation and unofficial transcript should be mailed separately to the scholarship committee (must be mailed, please do not take to the gallery).

Scholarship Committee, Olive Hyde Art Guild
P.O. Box 3073, Fremont, CA 94539

2017 Scholarship Announcement

2017 Scholarship Application


  • Proof of acceptance from school/college is required prior to awarding of scholarship
  • Olive Hyde Art Guild reserves the right to hold a public show of applicants’ work
  • Olive Hyde Art Guild reserves the right not to award a scholarship

Congratulations to our 2016 Scholarship Winners

Olive Hyde Art Guild announced three winners of it annual scholarship competition during a reception Friday, May 13, 2016. Chairmen Karen Dobmeier and Adrianne Dedic explained that the winning students were selected based on their portfolios of work, must have been accepted at a college or University and have plans to pursue education in the field of art. This year 9 students from Fremont high schools submitted work for consideration by the Guild.

Three guild members served as jurors to determine the winners. Juror Patricia Moran, currently teaching at Evergreen Valley College in San Jose, has taught painting, drawing and color classes at San Jose State Univ., Ohlone College, and College of San Mateo. Her work is held in public collections, such as the Kaiser Permanent Clinic in Fremont. and the Santa Clara Medical Center in Santa Clara. Juror Nancy Benton, a F.U.S.D. high school history teacher, also teaches art classes for adults at the Fremont Art Association. Currently, she has work on exhibit at the Harrington Gallery in Pleasanton. Juror Michael Wertz, a commercial artist from Oakland, with many notable clients including The Exploratorium, DeYoung Museum, The New York Times, and Random House, has also had his work featured at San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. He has also authored and illustrated many children’s books. A recognized Illustrator, he has recently been named as the Assistant Chairman of the Illustration Department at the California College of the Arts.

Minjun Kim from Irvington High School and recipient of the $2,000 first place award plans to attend the PrattMWP College of Art and Design in Utica, NY. In addition to his artistic talents, Minjun is also an accomplished musician and plays regularly with the Silicon Valley Symphony Orchestra. His volunteer efforts have earned him Certificates of Recognition from the California State Senate, the City of Milpitas, and Congressional Recognition from Mike Honda. Minjun has volunteered to assist in fund raising for a Cambodian water well project, support for earthquake relief in Nepal, and support for kids who need food in Malawi. He has also given his time as a teaching assistant, and to help children with special needs. At Pratt, Minjun plans to major in Communications Design.

Two Honorable Mention Awards for $1,000 each were also presented. Allison Du from American High School, plans to attend Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. Allison is the founder & president of Arttain a school club that has taught art to over 160 children in the Tri Cities area. She is also the founder & captain of her school’s speech team, and the co-founder and art editor-in-chief of Vignettes, an art and literary magazine for student work at American High. At Yale, Allison plans to major in Ethics, Politics & Economics. Allison’s art teacher, Megan Olson, states that Allison’s art work is “beautiful and evocative.”

Agnes Lo, the second Honorable Mention Award winner of $1,000, is a Mission High School graduating senior. Agnes plans to attend the University of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois where she plans to major in Economics and minor in Environmental Studies. Agnes’s volunteer activities include tutoring students learning Spanish, painting rooms in a homeless shelter, and participating in fundraising for Relay for Life. As a completive high school diver, Allison has participated in and received awards in North Coast Sectionals and in State competitions. She competes nationally as a member of the Stanford Diving Club.

In addition to the student scholarship awards, a $500 stipend for classroom art supplies, has been awarded to the art teacher, Tully Mintey, of the first place winner from Irvington High School.

Congratulations to our
2016 scholarship winners!


First Place: Minjun Kim


Agnes Lo

Honorable Mention: Agnes Lo



Honorable Mention: Allison Du


 Jurors - Patricia Moran, Michael Wertz, and Nancy Benton; Honorable mention winners - Allison Du and Agnes Lo,  First Place winner - Minjun Kim

Jurors – Patricia Moran, Michael Wertz, and Nancy Benton; Honorable mention winners – Allison Du and Agnes Lo, First Place winner – Minjun Kim